Avalanche Complete!

April 27, 2006

So I finished my commitment to the first part of the Avalanche project (what I was referring to as the French Job) back on the 15th or so. That was nice to get out from under. Got paid on time and everything, so good for me and good for Sebastien.

A few days later Sebastien sends me the PDF of Avalanche. Looks pretty damn good, I think. Of course this isn't a finished version. He's made several changes to the PDF recently. But this is close to what it will look like when it's done. You can check it out here http://www.cycles-rpg.com/teaser/AvalancheTeaser_S1F3.pdf.

It's stupid and unrealistic to expect every job you take to be worthwhile, or to expect to learn something valuable from every one of those jobs. But when I do a job that turns out to be difficult (for whatever reason) I like to try to figure out what went wrong and (if I can) learn from it. Avalanche is the first really big (as in number of illustrations) paid job that I've done, and the biggest problem I faced in it's three and a half months of work was… not actually being able to work.  Two separate bouts of illness (a bad cold and my previously documented pneumonia), a trip to Vegas for the GAMA Trade Show, a few other jobs I tried to get out of the way and various other distractions that seemed important at the time but escape my memory in the present.

The truth of the situation is that I should have started this job much sooner, and I should have continued to work on it consistently. I didn't get a rel start on Avalanche till mid Feb, and when the April 1st deadline rolled around I still had a fair amount of the coloring and grey scale work to do. So lesson learned. Going into the second part of this project (which I've already started) I've decided to do 4 illustrations a week (about 2 days worth of drawing), letting me complete the job by the end of June.

That's the plan.

If you're interested you can also check out Sebastien's ongoing attempt to try to explain the idea behind Avalanche on The Forge. For those of you that don't know The Forge is a site dedicated to discussing (and often tearing apart) small games and game ideas. You can find Sebastien's most recent topic here http://www.indie-rpgs.com/forum/index.php?topic=19572.0, which includes links to his older Avalanche topics. It's interesting reading.

4 Responses to “Avalanche Complete!”

  1. The french guy Says:

    Hi there Jack !! The last link is toward the teaser again, not the post…
    I think the S1F3 looks good, but it is far from complete. I believe the final version will rock !!
    Note that in this post, you will find elogious comments on Jake’s work. Well deserved, in my opinion.

    Sébastien

  2. jakerichmond Says:

    Fixed. Thanks sebastien

  3. Jackie Says:

    Thanks for your great post i am doing a study on this and you really helped me out here

    Thanks

    Jackie

    Jackie@mees.com

  4. jakerichmond Says:

    What kind of Study? I’m very curious.

    Jake

Leave a Reply

